Game Recap: Jazz 103 – Blazers 94

Game Details

10:00 PM ET, November 20th, 2010
Rose Garden, Portland OR

1 2 3 4 Final
UTA 19 26 20 38 103
POR 24 24 26 20 94

Top Performers
Utah: A. Jefferson 20 Pts, 14 Reb, 2 Ast, 1 Stl, 2 Blk
Portland: L. Aldridge 24 Pts, 11 Rebs, 2 Ast
ESPN.com Box Score

Recap

Another night, another double-digit deficit late in the first half. Seriously. How does this keep happening? The good news is that unlike the night before, the Jazz had an answer for Portland. His name is C.J. Miles.

Miles scored 25 points on 8-13 shooting, including 7-10 from the three point line. It was a monster night for Miles, who was 1 shy of Hornacek’s franchise record for most three pointers in a game. He also tied the record for most three pointers in a quarter (Giricek), set a Jazz record for most three pointers without a miss (5 of 5 in the 4th quarter).

His seventeen 4th quarter points helped the Jazz score 38 in the period, which eclipsed a 7-point deficit and turned it into a 9-point victory. The Jazz are now 6-2 on the road (6 and 2?!?!) while only playing .500 ball at home (losses to Suns, Thunder, Spurs).

Former Jazzman Wesley Matthews got the start last night, scoring 16 points while going 6 for 16, 2 rebounds, an assist and two steals.

The Jazz have a big week coming up. They’re facing three games in Salt Lake (Kings on Monday, Hornets on Wednesday, and the Lakers on Friday), before facing the Clippers in Los Angeles next Sunday.

Game Quotes

Phil Johnson (acting head coach)

“It was great. We were hanging in there, and at halftime I felt like we had a chance if we just played strong. We did so much better of a job right at the end of the second period and throughout the game on the defensive board.”

C.J. Miles

“That basket started to look big. I hit a couple in the first half, and then I think I rushed the third one because I felt good. I turned the ball over a couple times and just got anxious because I felt so good and saw so many openings. In the second half I got in the game a little earlier, and I got a better rhythm because I was in there for a lot more minutes. I just found the gaps. I got to the basket and got a dunk, and it helped my confidence a little bit. Then they just found me.”

“I was never going to stop being aggressive. I know that, whatever my percentage from the three-point line is right now, I know that’s not what I shoot from the line. I knew it was going to come back around, I’ve just been putting up extra shots and when I get good looks I take them. When I get good looks I shoot them, and they’ve encouraged me to keep shooting them.”

Wesley Matthews, Portland (former Jazzman)

“We were solid for three quarters. If it was a three quarter game, we would have been alright. We knew going into this that they’ve been known for comebacks. They’re a tough team and we just didn’t put it together for a full four quarters.”

“CJ got hot and we didn’t do anything about it. We were doing a pretty good job on D-Will, pretty good job on Millsap. Big Al got it going a little bit but we’ve got to contain everybody else. We didn’t do that tonight.”

Quotes from the Salt Lake Tribune

~ by djepperson on November 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
