New 2K11 Trailer is… Wow.

In the back of my head, I had been quietly debating which NBA game will I purchase this year.

On one side, 2K11 managed to get Micheal Jordan. That may not sound like much, but it kind of is. I remember hours and hours (and hours) of playing an old version of NBA Live 95 with my first roommates. Jordan didn’t allow for his likeness to be used in a video game, so instead of playing the Jordan character, we spent a lot energy trying to defeat “Chicago Shooting Guard #24,” and never being able to.

The fact that he’s now allowed his likeness to be used has plenty of fanboys (myself included) drooling.

Now, on the other side, NBA Elite 11 looks amazing. It’s got Durrant on the cover, introduces a new player control system AND features a scaled down version of NBA Jam 2011.

In my humble opinion, this is the biggest year in recent memory for basketball video games, so I had to weigh my options carefully.

I came across this full trailer for 2k11 earlier, and I think that the matter may be settled. Keep your eyes open for star NBA players from the 80s and 90s (i.e. Jordan’s career).

Take a moment and think about all the potential match-ups you could play:

  • Gary Payton vs Rondo
  • Ewing vs Dwight Howard
  • Magic’s Lakers vs. Kobe’s Lakers
  • The Bad Boys vs Miami Thrice
  • Young Jordan vs. Durrant
  • Old Jordan vs. James, vs. Pierce, vs. Kobe
~ by djepperson on August 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
