Pistol Pete

I saw a post this morning on Dime Magazine highlighting Pistol Pete Maravich. Loved it.

It reminded me of an audiobook I listened to this spring: Pistol. Very detailed book on Pete Maravich and his father/coach Press Maravich, who used to play on barnstorming basketball teams like the New York Celtics and the early Harlem Globetrotters. I’d definitely recommend it. Amazing story there.

By way of looking at Pistol’s numbers:

  • 44.2 PPG, 6.5 RPG and 5.1 APG at LSU
  • 24.2 PPG, 5.4 APG and 4.2 RPG in the NBA
  • 4 years with the Hawks, 6 years with the Jazz – New Orleans and Utah –  and 1 year with the Celtics

Beyond the stats, I really think the best way to get a sense of Maravich is to see him in action. I’d suggest you check out the video in the Dime Magazine article, though I’m a bit partial to this one:

~ by djepperson on July 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
